PM greets people of Odisha on Utkala Dibasa

OV Digital Desk
2 Min Read
Utkala Dibasa

Map of Odisha State | Source: AIR

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has greeted the people of Odisha on Utkala Dibasa.

In a tweet, the Prime Minister said, “Greetings on the special occasion of Utkala Dibasa. I bow to the unique culture of Odisha. The people of Odisha have contributed immensely to India’s progress. May the people of the state be blessed with happiness and good health.”

Read More: 1 April  in Indian and World History

- Advertisement -

History of Utkala Dibasa

Odisha Day, also Utkala Dibasa, is celebrated on 1 April in the Indian state of Odisha. He is observed in the memory of the formation of the state on 1 April 1936. It was separated from Bihar and Orissa Province. Also, Koraput and Ganjam were added to the state from the Madras Presidency.

The main revolution in this separate state continued for three decades from the very day of the formation of Utkal Sammilani that led to the foundation of a separate Odisha Province. The movement turned more intense and finally, the state was carved out in 1936. Odisha became the first independent state that was formed on the basis of language. Initially, the state has six districts — Cuttack, Puri, Baleswar, Sambalpur, Koraput and Ganjam.

Share This Article