Jaya Bachchan, (born 9 April 1948) an Indian film actress and politician.

Early Life

She was born on, 9 April 1948, in Madhya Pradesh, India. Her education was at Loreto Convent (Shillong), Loreto House (Calcutta), and St. Joseph’s Convent school (Bhopal). When she was a kid, she acted in a few Bengali movies, including Satyajit Ray‘s Mahanagar.  Later she appeared in two more Bengali movies: a 13-minute film called Suman and a comedy called Dhanyee Meye (1971), in which she played Uttam Kumar’s sister-in-law.

Then she went to Pune’s Film and Television Institute of India.


The first Hindi film she appeared in was director Hrishikesh Mukherjee’s comedy Guddi. She played glamorous roles in Jawani Diwani (1972) and played a semi-negative role in Anamika (1973). Her most famous films include Uphaar (1971), Piya Ka Ghar (1972), Parichay (1972), Koshish (1972) and Bawarchi (1972).

Sanjeev Kumar and she play a deaf couple in Gulzar’s Koshish (1973).

The first movie she did with Amitabh Bachchan was Bansi Birju (1972), then B. R. Ishara’s Ek Nazar also in the same year. After Amitabh had flopped and most leading ladies refused to work with him in Zanjeer (1973), she stepped in. All their successive films as a couple were huge hits – Abhimaan (1973), Chupke Chupke (1975), Mili (1975) and Sholay (1975).

In 1998, she returned to acting with Govind Nihalani’s film about the Naxalite movement, Hazaar Chaurasi Ki Maa. She won the Filmfare Award for Best Supporting Actress for her role in Fiza (2000). Her other film is Karan Johar’s ensemble family melodrama Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham (2001) with her husband. Following this, she played Preity Zinta’s mother in Johar’s romantic comedy drama Kal Ho Naa Ho (2004), for which she won the Filmfare Award for Best Supporting Actress. There was also a movie with her son Abhishek, Laaga Chunari Mein Daag (2007), and Drona (2008).

She starred with Victor Banerjee and Humayun Faridi in the Bangladeshi film Meherjaan in 2011.

Political career

In 2004, he was first elected to the Rajya Sabha, representing Uttar Pradesh as the MP from the Samajwadi Party. He served until March 2006. From June 2006 to July 2010, she got a second term, and in February 2010 she said she would finish it. She was elected to the Rajya Sabha for the third time in 2012, and again in 2018 for her fourth time.


In 1992, she received the Padma Shri, fourth highest civilian award of India.

Read More; Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay, an Indian novelist

Tags: , , , ,