India vs England 2nd Test: Did Akash Deep Dismiss Joe Root?

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has addressed the controversy surrounding Akash Deep’s delivery that dismissed Joe Root during the second Test match between India and England at Edgbaston. The MCC clarified that Deep’s delivery was legal, despite concerns about his back foot position. This ruling came after commentators and fans questioned the legality of the delivery, which played a crucial role in Indiaโs victory.
Legal Ruling on Akash Deep’s Delivery
In a recent statement, the MCC confirmed that Akash Deep’s bowled delivery to Joe Root was indeed a legitimate one. The clarification arose following a debate about the bowlerโs back foot appearing to touch outside the return crease during the delivery. According to the MCC, the legality of a delivery hinges on where the bowlerโs foot first lands and not its subsequent position. This ruling effectively settled the discussions that erupted after the incident.
The pivotal moment occurred during the second delivery of the tenth over, when Akash Deep bowled Root, significantly impacting Englandโs chase of 608 runs. The dismissal left England at 50 for 3, and the subsequent analysis by commentators, including Jonathan Trott, further fueled the controversy. However, the on-field umpires, Chris Gaffaney and Sharfuddoula Saikat, along with third umpire Paul Reiffel, did not call the delivery a no-ball, allowing the wicket to stand.
Commentary and Reactions
The dismissal sparked considerable debate among cricket fans and analysts alike. Several commentators questioned whether Deep’s delivery should have been classified as a no-ball due to the perceived position of his back foot. Former Indian coach Ravi Shastri, who was providing commentary at the time, asserted that the delivery was legal, emphasizing the importance of adhering to the rules.
The MCC’s spokesperson elaborated on the ruling, stating that while Deepโs foot landed unusually wide on the crease, it was within the limits of the law at the moment of landing. The MCC referenced Law 21.5.1, which dictates that for a fair delivery, the bowlerโs back foot must land within the return crease as defined by their delivery mode. This clarification helped to assuage the concerns raised by fans and commentators alike.
Implications for the Match
The dismissal of Joe Root had significant implications for the match, leading to England’s eventual total of 271 all out on the final day. This result handed India a commanding victory by 336 runs, leveling the series at one match each. The controversy surrounding the wicket, however, continued to dominate discussions, highlighting the ever-evolving nature of cricket regulations and interpretations.
As the series progresses, both teams will look to capitalize on the momentum gained or lost from such pivotal moments. With more matches ahead, players and fans alike will keenly observe how the laws of the game are applied, particularly in high-stakes situations.
Final Remarks from MCC
In their concluding remarks, the MCC reiterated the importance of clarity in the laws of cricket. They affirmed that the moment the back foot first touched the ground is the key factor in determining the legality of a delivery. The MCC emphasized that any subsequent movement of the foot, even if it touches outside the crease, is not relevant to the ruling of a no-ball. This explanation not only serves to clarify the specific incident but also reinforces the integrity of cricketโs laws in the face of scrutiny.
Observer Voice is the one stop site for National, International news, Sports, Editorโs Choice, Art/culture contents, Quotes and much more. We also cover historical contents. Historical contents includes World History, Indian History, and what happened today. The website also covers Entertainment across the India and World.